The Golden State Warriors are the 2022 NBA Champs

BOSTON – The Golden State Warriors have won the 2022 NBA Championship following tonight’s 103-90 victory over the Boston Celtics in Game 6 of the NBA Finals at TD Garden Arena in Boston, Mass. The Warriors join the Celtics and Los Angeles Lakers as the only NBA franchises to win seven-or-more titles:

Most NBA Championships 
Boston Celtics 17 
Los Angeles Lakers 17 
Golden State Warriors 
Chicago Bulls 
San Antonio Spurs 5

The Warriors are the 15th team among the four major sports (NBA, NFL, MLB, NHL), and first Bay Area franchise, to win at least four championships in eight years, joining the National Basketball Association’s Boston Celtics (four times), Los Angeles Lakers (three times), Chicago Bulls (once), the National Football League’s Green Bay Packers (twice), Pittsburgh Steelers (once) and Chicago Bears (once), the Major League Baseball’s New York Yankees (eight times), Boston Red Sox (once), the National Hockey League’s Montreal Canadiens (eight times), Toronto Maple Leafs (three times), Edmonton Oilers (once), New York Islanders (once), Detroit Red Wings (once), Ottowa Senators (once).

Golden State finished the 2022 NBA Playoffs with a 16-6 (.727) mark, including a 4-2 NBA Finals victory over Boston, a 4-1 victory over the Dallas Mavericks in the Western Conference Finals, a 4-2 win over the Memphis Grizzlies in the Semifinals and a 4-1 win over the Denver Nuggets in the First Round.

Warriors guard Stephen Curry Curry was named the Bill Russell NBA Finals Most Valuable Player Award with averages of 31.2 points, 6.0 rebounds, 5.0 assists and 2.00 steals in 37.5 minutes per game in The Finals. Curry is the seventh player in NBA history to have at least four NBA titles and two Most Valuable Player awards, joining Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Michael Jordan, Bill Russell, LeBron James, Magic Johnson and Tim Duncan.

Curry, Klay Thompson, Draymond Green, and Andre Iguodala each earned their fourth NBA Championship and are one of 40 all-time NBA players (0.8 percent) who have won four NBA titles. They are second quartet, in the last 50 years, to combine for four championships joining Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Michael Cooper, Magic Johnson and Kurt Rambis (1982, 1985, 1987, 1988).

Photo and content by Golden State Warriors

Malaika Bobino

Malaika Bobino, an Oakland, California native, is a Bay Area sports journalism powerhouse and influencer. With nearly two decades of experience at both the Oakland Post and the Huffington Post, she is always on the front lines of the iconic Bay Area sports scene. Bobino covered the Oakland A’s postseason trips, all three of the San Francisco Giants World Series, was present for all three Golden State Warriors three NBA Championships and covered the 49ers last two Super Bowl appearances

Previous Post
Next Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.